The Historic Skinner Building


Originally a hotel that catered to businessmen, the Skinner Coffee House was converted into a community center in 1916 by Isabella Skinner and Katherine Skinner Kilbourne.  The building was donated to the city of Holyoke in 1941, but retained its original purpose. Slated for demolish in 2006, this study was carried out to explore the possible re-development opportunities for the Skinner Building and strategize for the renovation and preservation of this Holyoke landmark.

Skinner FrontView 

Skinner Courtyard

Skinner Article 1

Skinner Article 2